Board of Directors

Iain Ross

Interim Executive Chairman

Iain Ross has over 35 years’ experience in the international life sciences and technology sectors where he has completed multiple financing transactions, and >25 years in cross-border management as a Chairman and CEO.  He has led and participated in 5 Initial Public Offerings, and has direct experience of M&A transactions in Europe, USA and Pacific Rim.

Currently he is a Non-Executive Director of Premier Veterinary Group plc (LSE) and Chairman of Biomer Technology Ltd; and also a Non-Executive Director of Anatara LifeSciences Ltd, Benitec Biopharma Ltd. and Novogen Ltd each of which is listed on the ASX. He is a qualified Chartered Director, and Vice Chairman of the Council of Royal Holloway, London University.

Previously, he has held significant roles in multi-national companies including Sandoz, Hoffman La Roche, Reed Business Publishing and Celltech Group plc where as Chief Executive Officer of Celltech Biologics plc, he moved the company from a loss-making position to reporting a net profit before the sale to Lonza. He has advised banks and private equity groups on numerous company turnarounds. These include as CEO of Quadrant Healthcare taking the Company public, signing numerous collaborations before selling the business to Elan in 2001. As Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, at Allergy Therapeutics, he re-structured the Company Balance Sheet to position Allergy Therapeutics as a virtually debt free cash generative company prior to its subsequent IPO. As Executive Chairman at Silence Therapeutics Plc (formerly SR Pharma plc), he turned the business around through M&A and established collaborations with Pfizer, Astra Zeneca and Dainippon Sumitomo before completing a merger with Intradigm Inc. Iain was appointed to the Board of e-Therapeutics in January 2016. He continues to consult for private equity groups on biotech & technology company turnarounds.

Steve Medlicott

Finance Director and Interim Chief Operating Officer

Steve joined e-Therapeutics’ management team in April 2014, having previously advised the Company in its £40 million fundraising in 2013. He is a Chartered Accountant. Prior to joining e-Therapeutics, Steve worked in the UK equity market for over 20 years. During this time he was involved primarily in research and advised on numerous flotations, acquisitions and corporate transactions. He has held various research and executive roles within UK capital market companies including Altium Capital, N+1 Singer and Peel Hunt. He co-founded Blueprint Advisors in 2012.

Sean Nicolson

Executive Director and Company Secretary

Sean has over 25 years’ experience advising biotechnology and technology businesses on commercial and corporate finance transactions. Before joining e-Therapeutics in 2015, he was previously a solicitor and equity partner in the corporate team of Bond Dickinson LLP.

Sean has worked with e-Therapeutics since its formation and advised it on its flotation and subsequent fundraisings. He has served as Company Secretary of e-Therapeutics and its subsidiary since its flotation. Sean is also a director and non-executive chairman of EVR Holdings plc (formerly Armstrong Ventures plc).

Brad Hoy

Non-Executive Director

Brad has over 20 years’ commercial experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries gained through financial and general management roles in the UK and US.

Brad is Director and co-founder of Seven Hills Venture Partners Limited, a life sciences advisory firm based in Edinburgh. Previously Brad was Chief Financial Officer of Plethora Solutions Holdings plc, an AIM-listed speciality pharmaceutical company; Chief Executive Officer of Xcellsyz Limited, a UK venture capital-backed life science company; and Senior Director of Geron Corporation’s stem cell-focused UK subsidiary. Prior to co-founding Seven Hills, Brad was Chief Financial Officer at Cyclacel Limited, a UK oncology company, and he held senior financial management positions at ChiRex Inc., a US-based pharmaceutical CMO. Brad is a Chartered Management Accountant. He was appointed as a Non-Executive Director of e-Therapeutics in September 2008, and chairs the audit committee and the remuneration committee.

Professor Trevor Jones CBE

Non-Executive Director

Trevor has over 40 years’ distinguished experience in the pharmaceutical and biotech industry as well as in academia. He is currently Chairman of the international CRO, Simbec-Orion Group Limited, and a Non-Executive Director of the Welsh investment company, Arthurian Life Sciences Limited and the global health and life sciences investment company, Perceptive Bioscience Investments Ltd. He is also Visiting Professor at King’s College, London and holds honorary degrees and Gold Medals from seven universities.

Previously, Trevor held significant roles in industry including Director of Allergan Inc from 2005 to 2015 and R&D Director of The Wellcome Foundation from 1987-1994, where he was responsible for the development of AZT, Zovirax, Lamictal, Malarone and other medicines.

Trevor has also held a number of advisory and regulatory roles including Director General of the Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI), board member of the European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industry Associations (EFPIA) and the International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Associations (IFPMA), a member of the UK Government regulatory agency, The Medicines Commission, a member of the UK Government Pharmaceutical Industry Ministerial Strategy Working Group on Pharmaceuticals, an adviser to the Cabinet Office on the Human Genome Project, a member of the Prime Minister’s Task Force on the Competitiveness of the Pharmaceutical Industry (PICTF) and Chair of the Government Advisory Group on Genetics Research. He joined the e-Therapeutics board in October 2015.